70 Favorite Poems: 24. Dark Sonnet by Neil Gaiman

[Neil Gaiman is probably my favorite writer of all time. He writes in so many genres and makes it look so easy. This is actually a poem and a song.]

I don’t think that I’ve been in love as such
although I liked a few folk pretty well
Love must be vaster than my smiles or touch
for brave men died and empires rose and fell 
for love, girls follow boys to foreign lands 
and men have followed women into hell  
In plays and poems someone understands  
there’s something makes us more than blood and bone 
And more than biological demands
for me love’s like the wind unseen, unknown  
I see the trees are bending where it’s been 
I know that it leaves wreckage where it’s blown 
I really don’t know what I love you means  
I think it means don’t leave me here alone 

One response

  1. Lux Kieran

    This poem is beautiful

    28 October 2011 at 12:08 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers